Summer Reading

This past week, I finished my freshman year of college. It’s crazy how fast time has flown, and continues to go. I feel like I am holding on for dear life.

But now that summer has started, I have (some) time to catch my breath and regroup for the fall semester. Which is much needed, as I have a list of books I cannot wait to dive into. I am a reader of pretty much anything, as long as it is (mostly) PG-13 and really good. Plus, I figured what better time to start a blog than summer vacation? And so, in no particular order … here are some of the books on my summer reading list.

 

Interpretations of Dreams (Sigmund Freud)

I am a Psychology major, and am so fascinated by Freud. Though his ideas are not really valid today as they may have once been, they intrigue me. The subconscious is an incredible well of mysteries, and I’m so excited to hear from Freud himself how he interprets dreams and other concepts. It’s a thick book, but I’m excited for the challenge.

Musicophilia (Oliver Sacks)

Again, psychology major over here. For my AP Psychology class my senior year of high school, the required summer reading was Hallucinations by Oliver Sacks. I really enjoyed that book, and figured I’d read another. I’m also a musician, so this idea of ‘musicophilia’ is beyond interesting to me. I actually started reading this book last summer while my family was traveling through Scotland, but I never finished it. And what better time than the present, right?

 Les Misérables (Victor Hugo)

This book. Man. This is one of my most favorite stories of all time, so much so that I have two complete, unabridged versions. One is a beautiful, hard backed version from the Barnes & Noble Classics collection, and comes to 908 pages. The other is an old paper back from a little old cluttered bookstore near some brand of mountains. This particular version clocks in at 1463 pages, and is probably my favorite version. I have actually read up to about half-way, then took my book mark out for a silly reason. And all I want to do is overcome with Valjean, hurt with Eponine, sob with Fantine, and fight with Marius, please and thank you.

Stars Above (Marissa Meyer)

As far as I can tell, Ms. Meyer is not related to that other Meyer, the one who wrote about vampires. Which is a-okay with me. Anyhow, this book is, in a sense, a companion to the Lunar Chronicles series, which is my current favorite set of books. The Lunar Chronicles is focused around four fairy tales set in a futuristic society. For example, Cinderella is a cyborg. I could go on and on about how good this series is, but that could turn into a book itself. For this book, it was published after the final book was published, so it’s really a collection of side stories that further add to the backgrounds of each of the main characters. I’m quite stoked to get into this one.

Signing for Dummies (Adan R. Penilla II, PhD, and Angela Lee Taylor)

I figured I should read some form of non-fiction as well. Plus, I’m part of a program at my church where knowing how to sign is so important. This program is specifically for kids with special needs, anything from autism (of any form) to Down syndrome, and anything in between. I work specifically with a little girl who has Downs, and I love her to death. When I first started helping her, she did a lot more signing than she does now. Her words are expanding at incredible rates, but my signing is still at zero. I think it’s time I learn how to sign, both for her, others, and for me.  Besides, I think knowing how to sign is such an important thing to know.

This is just a snippet of the books on my ‘to read’ list.  I’m actually attempting to tackle a year-long reading challenge.  But I figured it was best to challenge myself to read five books this summer.  I am taking summer classes, and I’m going to be working a lot as well, so though this is five books, I think this will be quite the challenge.  I’m quite excited to get started, so I think that’s what I’m going to do ……

Ciao for now,

Julia

Leave a Reply

