A Year of Joy

20160718_110809I just finished something kind of powerful.  I kept track of the things that bring me joy for a year.  I started July 16th 2015, and I finished July 16th 2016.

In this past year, not only have I experienced joy on many levels, but I’ve realized I can still find joy during dark times.

Initially, I didn’t plan on doing this a year.  I thought a week, then a month, then forty days, then ’til Christmas.  Next thing I knew, it had been a year.  Up until the week of Christmas and New Years, I kept track daily on Facebook.

I have (almost) filled up three glass soda bottles with my joys.

I highly encourage everyone to find something that brings them joy everyday.  I think it’s really important.

It’s changed my outlook on life.

Things that bring me joy are:

-Being able to run over 3 miles when I go for a run (just a couple of weeks ago,  I ran 4 miles for the first time

-Malala Yousafzai

-parasailing

Les Miserables (both the book and the musical)

-the sound of evening crickets

-stories of lives being changed because of, and by, Christ

-belly laughing with my best friend

-marching band

-sound and smell of summer rain

-going to bed with the windows wide open

-when companies are bold about their faith

-summer twilights

-the smell of baking brownies

-the sound of marching percussion (snares, tenors, bass drums)

-the smell of night

-crawling into bed to the sound of pouring rain

-blossoming roses

-good, real, space movies

-when people I love do cool things

-Celtic music

-home-smoked ribs

-Van Morrison

-‘Ever After’ with Drew Barrymore and Anjelica Houston

-Fight the New Drug/ End It

-Thanksgiving/ Christmas

-‘White Christmas’ with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye

-Jane Eyre

-‘Downtown Abbey’

-Fields of bright yellow dandelions

-the beautiful power of on-coming storm clouds

-writing (stories, poems, blog posts, etc)

-crime shows (like ‘Criminal Minds’ and ‘Lie to Me’)

-bats flying in the summer twilight sky

-the sound of a multitude of voice rising in praise to God

-pure, powerful God moments

-fresh, mouth-watering peaches

And many, many, many, more.  Everyday, something brings me joy, and makes me pause in wonder at the world I live in, and I love that.

What things bring you joy?

Ciao for now,

Julia

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

