Dear brothers and sisters.

Dear African-American brothers and sisters,

I’m sorry.  I’m sorry you’re hurting.  I’m sorry you’re afraid.  I’m sorry you’re angry.  I’m sorry for your broken hearts and broken families.  I’m sorry for the fear you feel when you walk down the streets, and when you meet police officers.  I’m sorry for your past, and the pain and scars it leaves.  I’m sorry for these imperfect systems imperfect men have created that have left such lasting scars.  I’m so sorry.

My heart hurts for you.   I don’t know what happened in those violent moments where your families were shattered.  I don’t know the facts, or the terminology.

But I know the pain of a breaking heart.  I know the pain of losing someone you love so dearly.  I can understand the anger of senseless, or unjustifiable murder.  I can understand the fear and despair.  I may not have ever had these experiences, but I can understand.

I don’t know what to say, or if you even want me, a young white female, to say anything at all.  But know that I am here.

I want you to know, though, that I hurt with you, and I love you.  Under God, you are my brothers and sisters.  The loss of life is a terrible thing, regardless of the situation, color, age, gender, anything, and I hurt with you.

I want you to know that I am praying for you, for healing and hope, for courage and love.  I am reaching out to cry with you, to hug you, to grieve with you, to pray with you, and to hope for safety.

Dear law enforcement brothers and sisters,

I’m sorry.  I’m sorry for these terrible situations you’ve been in.  I’m sorry for how you’re being painted in the media.  I’m sorry that the badge you so proudly wear causes people to want to hurt you.  I’m sorry for the fear you feel every time you leave for duty, wondering if this is the last time you will see your family.  I’m so sorry.

My heart hurts for you.  I don’t know you, or the true, raw emotions coursing through your minds and hearts. I have no idea the situation you were in when the trigger was pulled.  I don’t know the facts, or the terminology.

But I know the pain of a breaking heart.  I know the fear of being misunderstood.  I can understand the hard place you are put in while trying to do your job and protect yourself.  I can understand the fear and despair.  I may not have ever had these experiences, but I can understand.

I don’t know what to say, of if you want me to say anything at all.  But know that I am here.

I want you to know that I hurt with you, and I love you.  Under God, you are my brothers and sisters.  The loss of life is a terrible thing, regardless of the situation, color, age, gender, anything, and I hurt with you.

I want you to know that I am praying for you, for courage and wisdom, for love and healing.  I am reaching out to cry with you, to hug you, to grieve with you, to pray with you, and to hope for safety.

Dear brothers and sisters everywhere,

My heart goes out to you, no matter your situation or experiences.  Under God, you are my brothers and sisters.  I am sorry for discrimination.  I am sorry for injustice and unfairness.  I am sorry for those who refuse to understand, and those who belittle.  I am sorry for the pain, hurt, and fear you are feeling.  I am hurting with you, and I love you.

Dear brothers and sisters, I hear you.  I am with you.  I love you.

Julia

Leave a Reply

