Culloden

So, this post was supposed to be a telling of the Jacobite battle at Culloden.  When I was in Scotland, my family visited Culloden, and it’s haunted me ever since.  And I felt the need to tell the world about what happened.

However, I am just an American girl, and I can’t begin to explain Scottish history.  As I was researching, I realized what I had learned at the battlefield didn’t quite match records online, and so, I felt I was unable to accurately explain what happened.

But from what I gather to be correct, Culloden was where the army of the Duke of Chamberlain (of England) fought the Highland army of Bonnie Prince Charlie (Prince Charles Stuart of Scotland).  The battle lasted just about an hour, with the Highlanders experiencing the most casualties. The land is marshy, and thus made advancing really difficult for the Highlanders.  When I was at Culloden, I was told that the English declared “no quarter”, meaning to leave no survivors.  However, I have found no concrete evidence online to support that.  But history is written by the winners, so little dirty and unsavory deeds are often ignored, and thus, “no quarter” is quite a possibility.

Either way, Culloden was the bloodiest battle ever fought by the Jacobite.  Walking the grounds in a cloudy evening atmosphere, I was reminded of the Gettysburg Battle during the Civil War.  In these battlefields, I can’t help but feel an intimate connection to what happened, almost as if swords are still clashing, and cannons are still firing, and men were still dying, all around me.  It’s a humbling thing, walking where men lost their lives for a cause.

dsc_6058dsc_6052dsc_6069

20150617_173655

I wish I could do this justice, but alas.  So if you’d like to learn more, here are some links:

Battle of Culloden

Culloden

The Battle of Culloden (briefly discusses the Highland Clearances as well)

Ciao for now,

Julia

Leave a Reply

