Hope.

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything.  It’s that point in the semester where I’m holding on for dear life.  Time is not something I have much of, and stress and I are best friends.  However, in this short bit of time before my next responsibility, I wanted to post something.

Regardless of who you voted for in this election, I think everyone is feeling a little hopeless.  Hopeless because of the labels being thrown around based on assumptions and stereotypes, or because of the outcome.  Hopeless because of fear, or because of change.  The protestors are angry, and violence is breaking out.  Bullying and discrimination seems to be spreading like a wildfire.  Sometimes, it feels like America is falling apart.

The past few days, I have been doing all I can to remind myself Who is in control.  There have been mornings were I feel overwhelmed by the hatred and anger on Facebook, and it clamps around my heart like an iron fist.  We as a nation are in The Storm.  But I know my God is at the helm of this ship, and He will guide us through.  My soul is comforted in that fact, as it never has been before.

So, with that being said, I want to share with some of the songs I have been clinging to this past week.  Each morning, I listen to them on my way to school and to work, letting them wash over me.  They center my heart and mind, helping me face anger and opposition and frustration and hopelessness with peace and kindness and love and hope.

My prayer for these songs isn’t that they’ll change minds.  Or that they’ll quell anger.  Or that they’ll stop hate or fear.  My prayer is simply that they’ll bring hope.

Everyone person, regardless of political party or religious affiliation, needs hope right now.  I hope, and pray, these songs provide some hope, even if it just the smallest glimmer.

It is Well by Kristene Dimarco and Bethel Music

Jesus, We Love You by Paul McClure and Bethel Music

No Longer Slaves by Jonathan David, Melissa Heller, and Bethel Music

Joy of the Lord by Rend Collective

How He Loves by David Crowder

Great are You Lord by All Sons and Daughters

Build Your Kingdom Here by Rend Collective

King of the World by Natalie Grant

Every Giant Will Fall by Rend Collective

More Than Conquerors by Rend Collective

Broken Vessels (Amazing Grace) by Hillsong

Good Good Father by Chris Tomlin

Holy Spirit by Francesca Battistelli

You Make Me Brave by Amanda Cook and Bethel Music

Sinking Deep by Hillsong Young and Free

Trust in You by Lauren Diangle

screenshot_2016-09-11-09-22-24

Leave a Reply

