Days of Cheer: The Nutcracker Suite

Every year growing up, my grandma would take my mom, cousins, and I to a local theater to see a local ballet company perform the Nutcracker.  For about fifteen years, this was a tradition.  I looked forward to this every year; the feel of the velvet seats, the first stirring notes from the orchestra, the sound of the pointe shoes on the stage, and the music I knew so well.  It was all so magical and wonderful, and no matter how old I grew, going to see the Nutcracker made me feel like a child again.

However, as the years have gone by, going every year has turned into going every other.  It’s a little bittersweet, and on the skipped years, my heart just yearns for the ballet, and the music.

When I was younger, I took ballet, and often dreamed about performing in the show.  Then, when I started playing the flute, I dreamed about being a part of the orchestra.  Now, I have other dreams, but I have been, and always will be, enraptured by this show.

There’s just something so Christmas about the Nutcracker.

* I grew up watching George Balanchine’s choreography, so I’m pretty biased when it comes to the best interpretation.  However, as long as it’s the Nutcracker, I’m happy.*

Ciao for now,

Julia

Happy Holidays! Xx

Leave a Reply

