Days of Cheer: Gingerbread Houses and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

Making Gingerbread Houses

One of my most favorite things about the Christmas season, is decorating gingerbread houses.  I don’t have the time to make everything from scratch, so pre-made kits are absolutely wonderful.  Of course, I don’t quite have the patience for sticking the house together.  In fact, by the time it’s all assembled, I’ve probably tried to throw things across the room in frustration.  (Not literally, but you get the idea.). My favorite part is sticking the candies on the house.  I love how I can be as creative as I want, using as many of the included candies as I want.  (As a right-brained girl, I love that.). I think my favorite part about this year’s house, it the peppermint roof.  A pain to do, but I think it gives the house a really cool look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~~~~~~~~

National Lampoon’s. Christmas Vacation

Probably my family’s favorite movie to watch together during the holidays is Christmas Vacation.  It’s simply hilarious, and no matter how many times we watch it, it’s just as funny as the first.  Throughout the year, my family uses phrases like “I don’t know, Margo!”, or “We’re at the threshold of Hell!” or many other glorious snippets.  And frankly, Aunt Bethany is probably my favorite character, because she’s nutty in the totally oblivious old-age way.  I’m just always so thankful that my family’s Christmas are always more sane than the Griswold’s.  I’d probably start hacking newel posts off too, if things got that crazy …..

 

Ciao for now,

Julia

Happy Holidays! Xx

Leave a Reply

