Days of Cheer: Christmas Books

I’ve always loved reading.  I have for as long as I can remember.  Some of my most favorite and beloved books are ones I’ve read around Christmastime.  A vast majority of them are picture books, but a few are chapter books as well.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

First and foremost, how can you enjoy Christmas and not indulge in this story? It’s so incredibly relevant today, as well as when it was written.  The story of Ebenezer Scrooge, Marley, and the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Yet to Come is just so classic, and Scrooge’s heart-change is enough to melt any heart.

The Legend of Holly Claus by Brittney Ryan

This is the story of Holly Claus, the daughter of Santa Claus.  It’s a fairy tale, and a love story, and just beautiful.  It’s about breaking a spell, in the most selfless beautiful way.    (Plus, this story is part of the Julie Andrews Collection, and I just love Julia Andrews.)

The Best Christmas Patent Ever by Barbara Robinson

This is a very funny, light read, but packed full of heart-stuff. It’s about the Herdmans, a rough and tumble family of kids, who have no idea about Jesus or the real reason of Christmas.  But all of a sudden, they get cast in a yearly Christmas pageant and shake things up.  Reading it just now, I got teary-eyed at the end.

The Story of Christmas by Geraldine McCaughrean

This is simply a re-telling of the Biblical story, starting with the Zacharias and Elizabeth, and ending with Mary and Joseph escaping to Egypt.  However, I’ve always loved the illustrations by Helen Ward.  They’re beautiful and wonderful and very captivating to me.

Spirit Child: A Story of the Nativity translated from Aztec by John Bierhorst

I love this retelling of the Christmas story.  I love the fact that it’s translated from the Aztec story.  I love the illustrations.  And I love that the story I know so well was known in another culture.  It’s just absolutely beautiful.

The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry

This story makes me want to curl up in a ball and cry.  The pure love this couple has for each other, gosh, it hurts my heart.  They loved each other so much that they were willing to sell what meant so much to them individually to give each other the gift they wanted most in the world.

The Last Straw by Fredrick H. Thury

This is the story of Hoshmakaka, an old and very proud camel, who was part of the Wise Men’s entourage.  He whines and complains about the heavy load on his back the entire journey, but won’t stop walking, because of his pride.  However, when he falls at the manger of the baby King, his pride and aches and pains just fall away.

Why Christmas Trees Aren’t Perfect by Richard H. Schnieder

I love this story so much, because it stresses the importance of inner beauty as much as outer beauty.  It’s about a small evergreen tree, Small Pine, trying to grow into the most beautiful evergreen tree, worthy of being placed in the Queen’s great hall for Christmas.  My brothers and I have grown up hearing this story, and as we’ve gotten older, the ideas in the story have trickled into how my family picks our tree every year.

Who’s Coming to Our House Christmas Eve? by Joseph Slate

This is such a simple and cute story, of the stable animals preparing for Mary and Joseph.  It was one of my mom’s favorite to read to my brothers and I, and it’s definitely one I’d like to have for my kids.

2016-12-17-22-42-09

Some of my other favorites are The Littlest Angel by Charles Tazewell, The Friendly Beasts adapted by John J. Blumen, Claude the Dog by Dick Gackenbach, The Crippled Lamb by Max Lucado, The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg, and of course, The Night Before Christmas.

What are some of your favorite books to read during Christmas time?

Ciao for now,

Julia

Happy Holidays! Xx

 

Leave a Reply

