Days of Cheer: Christmas Crafts

There’s always an infinite supply of candy at my house around Christmas time.  It kind of fills in the gaps between my mom’s Christmas cookies, so at any given moment, there’s a; ways something sweet to munch on.  A few years ago, I had the idea to save the candy wrappers, make “art” with them.  Generally, I prefer the foil wrappers on Rolos, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, and any other small, individually wrapped candies.  These make the coolest pieces, I think.

I think to think of myself as an “unconventional” artist, in a sense, because I like to use “weird” mediums to express myself.  I’ve used glass soda bottles, tissue paper, newpaper headlines, wet colored pencils, candy wrappers, and I have plans for many other “weird” things.

But at Christmas time, with this overflowing amount of wrappers, I like to use hot glue and create pictures.  Generally, these scenes are of the Biblical Christmas Eve.  But I’ve done holly branches and a bell before.  These scenes are dependent on the colors of the wrappers, and how many I have.  Several hours ago, I finished this year’s scene.  I’m really quite proud of it, and I didn’t even really burn my fingers this year, which is totally a positive.

20161217_190315(I know it may be a bit hard to see because of the glare, but the words in the top left corner are “O holy night….”).

Ciao for now,

Julia

Happy Holidays! Xx

Leave a Reply

