Things I’m Learning….

This was not the post I had planned for today.  I have another one all but written, which I wanted to publish today.  But this afternoon, I got sucked into Facebook.   I’ve been trying very hard to stay off, with the intention of preserving my sanity.  But somehow, today,  I managed to immerse myself in all the political and opinionated corners of my Facebook feed.  I was getting angry and disheartened.  I was feeling (indirectly) offended and ridiculed.  I was ending up on profiles of people who have very opposite beliefs and ideologies than I do, and I was beginning to feel like my own beliefs were being attacked and belittled.  I was beginning to feel hopeless, and simply overwhelmed.

I’ve decided to place myself on a momentary Facebook ban.  Not because I don’t like my friends. Not because I want to hurt my friends. Not because I don’t respect their opinions.   But because it takes a very strong person to stay above the political disagreements and societal upheaval.  And right now, I can’t be that person.  I have to separate myself.  Though I will never be someone to engage with people over Facebook about politics, my mind and heart just can’t handle this fighting and protesting and name-calling and belittling.  I just can’t.

I’ve been learning several things through this political season, besides just the facts.  I’m learning how to live in a world that doesn’t agree with what I believe, and sometimes even violently disagrees with me.  I’m learning what it means to keep my head high, when names and abuses are thrown at me.  I’m learning what it truly means to trust God when everything seems like it’s falling apart.

I’m learning, that no matter how much I learn, there will always be people trying to prove me wrong.

I’m learning that truth, and the pursuit of, is dependent on perspective.  I’m learning that truth is as fleeting as snowflakes in my hand.  And I’m learning, that though truth is so important, there will always be people who try to hide it.

I’m learning, that unless my conversation partner is willing to (try to) understand where I’m coming from and why I believe the things I do, there’s no reason to have a conversation with that person.

I’m learning that tolerance goes two ways, and in order for someone to be tolerant towards me, I must first be tolerant towards them.  I’m also learning how cruel it is for people to only be tolerant when it agrees with them.

I’m learning that nothing is helped by only listening to one perspective, or one news outlet all the time.  I’m learning that truth (and facts) are covered in many outlets, and in many ways.  I’m learning that the whole story is never in one place.

I’m learning that, more than ever, my worth as a person is not dependent on my religious or political beliefs, gender, or race.  I’m learning with each passing day that particular agendas will only confine me to what they want me to be, based on those things.

I’m learning that open-mindedness can be seen as close-mindedness by people who don’t agree with me.

I’m learning that name calling is a defense mechanism, and many people cling to it like a safety blanket.

I’m learning that if I can’t be bold about something that is important to me when the time comes, then it must not have been that important to me in the first place.

I’m learning, like there are “seasons” in my life where God wants me to learn something, there are also “seasons” in my country’s life.  And these seasons, no matter in what caliber than occur, they are always in God’s control.  I’m learning that there is a time and a place for everything, even if it’s something other people don’t agree with.  It’s all for a purpose, and whether or not the outcome is something we like, it’s something God is taking care of.

I’m learning ignorance is a deadly and infectious virus, which is only curable when pride and arrogance is placed to the side.

I’m learning that celebrities are often a given platforms to speak, simply because they are a celebrity.  But I’m learning that when celebrities speak, they often aren’t qualified to speak on the things they insist on speaking about.

I’m learning that pushing political (and religious) agendas on people puts a sour taste in their mouths about that subject.

I’m learning blind compassion hurts more than it heals, and people will often take advantage of such compassion.

I’m learning there is nothing wrong with disagreeing, as long as you love and respect each other during and after the conversation.

I’m learning how lucky I am to be a woman, and how blessed I am to have the rights I do, when there are so many women around the world who have nowhere near the rights I do.

I’m learning that, yes, words can be bad.  But worse still are actions.

My parents have always told me this, but I’m learning how important it is to respond and not react.  There is a powerful difference between the two.  One makes you think through the situation, and choose your words and actions carefully.  The other is fueled by emotions and gut reactions.  One hurts while the other inspires meaningful conversations.

I’m learning that in order to strongly dislike a person, more must be disliked than just the appearance and surface-level superficial reasons.

I’m learning that if you are constantly up in arms over something, you will see it everywhere.

I’m learning it’s important to have what I believe challenged sometimes.  Like religious beliefs, my beliefs on life and politics are not supposed to be stagnate my whole life.

I’m learning that being a Christian is about being passionately in love, and worshipping God with all I am.  It’s not about just loving others, it isn’t just about Jesus, and it isn’t about my own glory and fame.  It is about God.  And I’m learning that being a Christian means that you will be ridiculed by others who cannot believe you’d put priority of an unseen being over your fellow man.

I’m learning people can be cruel when they’re disappointed, and let down, and when life doesn’t turn out their way.

I’m learning it doesn’t help any situation by celebrating the victory of one side, and using it as a smack in the face towards the other side.

I’m learning hypocrisy and assumptions are just as disastrous as ignorance.

I’m learning to feel strong and be great, one must first feel weak and overwhelmed.  For it is through the fire that diamonds are made.

I’m learning that it is foolish to place our lofty and unattainable expectations on people and governments who are completely incapable of attaining those expectations.

I’m learning it is okay to be hopeful and have faith, even if everyone tells you there is nothing to be positive about.

Perception tree.png

Ciao for now,

Julia

 

Leave a Reply

