January Books

Hi, I’m Julia, and I love books.  I’m always reading something or other.  I love the sounds of pages turning.  I love how fast hours tick by when the story is good.  I love how certain stories and characters leave an eternal print on my heart.  And I love how reading expands my vocabulary, and the way I think about the world.  My mom is also an incredible reader, and I aspire to devour books as much as she does.  She’s constantly updating her blog with the books she’s read, and I thought I’d model a series of posts after her posts.  I’d like to start a series about the books I’ve during each month of the year.  I’m not doing any particular challenge this year, but I am challenging myself to simply read.  Just to sit down and get enraptured by a book and its characters and its story.  With that said, allow me to present the books I read during January.

The final three books of The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

635879074141402229-1831041570_tumblr_lefb64nwzy1qd9gmoThis was my favorite series in elementary school, but I was never able to finish it.  I would always get to the final three or four books, but somehow never finish.  I had got this series for Christmas, and pretty much devoured it in a week or so.  (Plus, I really wanted to finish it before the Netflix show came out in early January.).  The more I read these books, the more I loved Snicket’s  writing (who is really Daniel Handler).  The writing is part whimsical, part philosophical, and quite profound in very subtle ways. When I finally finished the series, gosh, my heart was content.  The story ends in such a beautifully unexpected way, and though it feels out of the blue, it makes perfect sense to the story.  The ending was  bittersweet but triumphant, quietly resigned and very sad, beautifully written and incredibly poignant.  Overall, this series quickly became of my favorite series of all time.

Hope Heals by Jay and Katherine Wolf

This book hurt, but it was a beautiful kind of hurt.  Briefly, this story is written about thehvzksqc4 incredibly power of hope, and the beauty of God’s plan.  Katherine suffered a massive brain stem stroke about six months after having her first child.  She spent months on life support, then worked on brain and physical recovery.  She was told she was never going to walk or eat again, but let me just tell you, God is good.  This is the story of the hope Jay and Katherine shared during this terrifying time in their lives, and the love they have for each other.  Within the first ten pages, I already wanted to sob.  And by the end, I couldn’t stop smiling.  I had the incredible chance to see this couple speak at a conference at the beginning of the year, and goodness, I was just simply captivated and I wanted to sit at their feet listening to them speak for a very long time.  This book is powerful, and I think you should read it.

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

lostsymbolI love Dan Brown’s books.  I’ve already read Angles and Demons, and The Da Vinci Code.  I also have Deception Point in my collection, with the intention of reading it in the near future.  Don’t get me wrong, I know these stories are all completely fictional.  But I love how the information presented seems so sound and logical.  I love the internal struggle these books create.  I love that they make me question everything I know.  I know that may sound a little silly, but I think it’s important to be challenged every now and then; it helps us grow.  This story is set in Washington DC, and deals with the secret society of the Freemasons.  And actually, as I was starting this book, my family and I spent a weekend in DC, and got to see several of the places mentioned in the book.  It was a fast-paced book and a good “curl up by the fire” kind of story.

What are you reading right now? What’s on your reading list for this year?

Ciao for now,

Julia

Leave a Reply

