Collection of Beautiful Things (IV)

It’s been a rough couple of weeks for me.  An intensive semester of classes, issues at work, and a couple stressful relationships.  I’m in a bit of an emotional slump, and am having a hard time not curling up in my bed for the next few days, and ignoring all responsibilities.

The nasty thing, though, is life doesn’t stop just because I’m feeling a bit emotionally strained and unsettled.  And so, since I do have responsibilities and homework, I thought I’d remind myself of all the beauty left around me and be happy.  There’s an incredible kind of peace that comes when surrounded by soul-touching beautiful things.

 

2017-02-26 19.57.45.png

“She has autonomy. She has a strong will. But she can’t move. So in many ways her life is my life. It’s bigger than me, it controls me, and it makes me fight like never before. We spend so much time together that she’s a part of me. She knows how important she is to me. She had childhood cancer. Her heart failed three times. And I was by her side the entire time. I never realized that I could love someone as much as this. She could never hurt me. She could never hurt anyone. We always ask her: ‘Are you angry?’, ‘Are you mad?’ And she always says ‘no.’ She laughs when I laugh. And right now I’m trying not to cry. Because she’ll cry if I cry.” (São Paulo, Brazil) ~ from Humans of New York

 

Screenshot_2017-02-06-17-37-53.png

11ffb70fb559d5f14e8eeb0758e9797b

(My mom and I love Masterpiece shows.  I love Mercy Street, and my mom and I are currently in love with Victoria.)

What are some of your beautiful things, those things that heal your soul and heart?

Ciao for now,

Julia

Leave a Reply

