International Women’s Day

Okkaayyy, I’ve had trouble thinking of what to say for this post.  I’m not a feminist, as I’ve said before. (I am, in the traditional sense, though, which is for being respected and understood as an intellectual and spiritual equal, which is along the same lines of Mary Wollstonecraft and Margaret Fuller.). And because my thoughts have been pretty jumbled and mushy today about this post, I thought I’d just share with you some of the women who inspire me.

First and foremost, my mom inspires me.  She is such an incredible woman, and if I grow up to be half the woman she is, I will be so blessed.  Up until two years ago, my mom never graduated form college.  She dropped out when her passions changed.  But, in the span of four years, while being a full time mom and college professor, my mom got both her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees.  Yeah, she’s pretty much Super Woman.  Also, both of my grandmothers inspire me.  Both have beaten breast cancer (at various stages), and it has not seemed to deter them one bit.  My mom’s mom has even beat cancer a number of times, and continues to live with such a passion every day.  I have great-grandmothers on both sides of my family, and they are both turning a hundred years old this year- one in a few days!  These women continue to have sharp minds, and I hope I am that mentally aware when I get older.  Finally, my aunts inspire me, because each one, in their own gentle and wonderful ways, impact and love on their families and friends, and do the things they love.

Second, I am inspired by women who add meaningful and important things to society and the world.  I have mentioned her before, but I love Christine Caine.  She is such a strong woman of God, and is quite the powerhouse for fighting against slavery.  One of my dreams is to intern or volunteer at an A21 campus, or be part of an A21 team, saving people from slavery.  Also, I am inspired Malala Yousafzai.  I read her book I Am Malala the summer I graduated high school, and her passion for education is absolutely something I can get behind.  Along similar lines, I am inspired by women, like Nadia Murad, have suffered terrible things, and speak out against it.

Thirdly, I am inspired by female musicians and artists.  (Without getting on too much of a tangent, I think too many people in the music industry today are simply performers, with no real talent or ability ….. sorry, I just wanted to make that distinction ….). I love Laura Mvula because she is a classically trained composer, and writes all of her music, lyrically and musically, and that’s so refreshing to me.  Also, I am obsessed with Kimbra.  She feels her music straight down to her soul, and creates musically that is so textually complex, it’s infectious.  Finally, I am so inspired by Aurora.  She sees the world in such a child-like, innocent, poetic way, and I feel like the world needs more of this purity.

And finally, I am beyond inspired by women with disabilities who challenge the world by doing what they love.  For example, Madeline Stuart.  This incredible woman has Down Syndrome, but that is not stopping her from chasing her dream of being a big-time model.  And there’s Collette Divitto, another incredible woman with Down Syndrome, chasing her dream of owning a bakery.  I’ve also quite fallen in love with Gaelynn Lea, an incredible violinist and singer, who is confined to a wheelchair with minimal movement.  Everyday I read more and more stories about marvelous people, let alone marvelous women, who live with disabilities, but continue to reach for their dreams.

I love all of these incredible women, and they inspire me to be all I can be, both as a woman and just as a person.  Who are some of the women that inspire you?

Ciao for now,

Julia

(P.S. Here is one of my favorite songs for empowerment: Laura Mvula- Phenomenal Woman.)

 

Leave a Reply

